Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community: Converting Photoshop brush files .ABR and Paint Shop Pro bru - Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community

Jump to content

  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Converting Photoshop brush files .ABR and Paint Shop Pro bru

#1 User is offline   Ali Imran 

  • Owner
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 2,308
  • Joined: 06-December 04
  • LocationDubai, UAE

Posted 19 April 2005 - 03:02 AM

We have too many request for a detailed tutorial for using abr2gbr utility, and I personally got 100s of mails regarding bulk conversion.

I request people to please post your requests in forum rather than sending me a direct email. I visit gimptalk forum all the time.

NOTE : This tool is not written by me, I am just a user of it as you are.

[line]

Before reading the tutorial below, download the great utility form following link
http://the.sunnyspot...gimp/tools.html

TUTORIAL

Here I will try to demonstrate some for windows users since I am windows user and have no idea how it works on other platforms.

First of all make a new folder in root of your drive C (I am sure you can do that). Name the folder gbr

1. After downloading the zip file just extract abr2gbr.exe to the newly created folder C:\\gbr.

2. Now put all the .abr and .jbr files also in the same folder named gbr.

3. Run the command prompt, by using button Start on taskbar, and then click Run, a new window will appear asking you what to run, type

command

in this textbox (only the word 'command') and press enter key.

You will now see a console window (black window).

4. Type in C: and press enter
5. Type in cd\\gbr and press enter



Now you will see something like C:\\gbr> and a blinking cursor.

Finally, suppose you have an .abr file named 'gimptalk.abr' and you want to convert it to .gbr version, simply Type:

abr2gbr gimptalk.abr

and you are done.

Go to the folder C:\\gbr through 'My Computer' icon on desktop or Windows Explorer, and see if there are .gbr (GIMP brush files), it means conversion succeeded, otherwise (if not) it definitely means that the brush files are of a new vresion that cannot be decompressed by utility abr2gbr for conversion.

[line]

Now, question is how to use them in gimp?

Answer is simple.
Copy all the converted .GBR files to brushes folder of gimp
usually
C:\\Program Files\\GIMP-2.2\\share\\gimp\\2.0\\brushes

or if you have installed gimp in some other folder, then use

\\share\\gimp\\2.0\\brushes

and restart the gimp (if already running), or simply rightclick within the brushes windows and select menu item Refresh.

[line]

BTW : I am writing a front-end gui for this great utility which will allow you to select folders (containing .abr .jbr files), and do the bulky conversion transparently. wait for that :w:

I hope it helps.

regards
0

#2 User is offline   sherry 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 18-April 05

Posted 19 April 2005 - 05:11 AM

Posted Image well i think my version of windows is different from yours. this is my problem. do you know whats wrong? i followed your instructions. and as a side note, what are u using for the gui?
0

#3 User is offline   Ali Imran 

  • Owner
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 2,308
  • Joined: 06-December 04
  • LocationDubai, UAE

Posted 19 April 2005 - 05:25 AM

Indeed it is different.

Please review the step 5, I forgot to add a backslash (\\).
So that command becomes cd\\gbr


regards
0

#4 User is offline   sherry 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 18-April 05

Posted 19 April 2005 - 05:38 AM

that fixed one problem but here is another
Posted Image
0

#5 User is offline   Ali Imran 

  • Owner
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 2,308
  • Joined: 06-December 04
  • LocationDubai, UAE

Posted 19 April 2005 - 05:53 AM

This is not the problem actually, but compatibility issue.
The brush version which is not decodable, will not be converted.

regards
0

#6 User is offline   sherry 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 18-April 05

Posted 19 April 2005 - 05:54 AM

ok thx a lot. and i will use this on other brushes tomorrow.
0

#7 User is offline   Registery 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 10-March 05

Posted 04 May 2005 - 05:36 PM

Oh this seems to be new tutorial, Ali once you talked about GUI where is it? we are still waiting for that.

reg
0

#8 User is offline   Ali Imran 

  • Owner
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 2,308
  • Joined: 06-December 04
  • LocationDubai, UAE

Posted 04 May 2005 - 05:48 PM

Hi reg

I have managed to compile the source fully under windows using gcc.
I am started workign on it, acutally it does not require more than an hour, but due to business in other web projects I could not take my neck out and work on it.

I will post the reuslts shortly.

regards
Ali Imran
0

#9 User is offline   Registery 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 10-March 05

Posted 04 May 2005 - 05:48 PM

Quick ali :w:

Let us see what you come up with.

reg
0

#10 User is offline   €ø®è¥ 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 15-May 05

Posted 15 May 2005 - 08:46 PM

will ever be made so we can do brushes that are version 6, cuz this really bums me out, i cant use there reallky cool ps brushes i found
0

#11 User is offline   Ali Imran 

  • Owner
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 2,308
  • Joined: 06-December 04
  • LocationDubai, UAE

Posted 16 May 2005 - 07:27 AM

Welcome €ø®è¥

Acutally I cnat alter the actuall structure of this tool, and havn't lookoed into the structure, the support for v6 brushes will be implemented by the author, what I will do is just the gui. I myself an waiting for hte final full version of this tool, so that the final gui I write must be fully compatible with all versions. Let's see when the author writes it.

regards
0

#12 User is offline   emmylove15 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 08-June 05

Posted 08 June 2005 - 07:23 PM

hi I am new to gimptalk yes and i followed the instructions but i dont know whats wrong with it look:


help me please!!! i use gimp 2.2 and have windows xp

http://tinypic.com/5ufx8o



no matter what i do the picture isnt getting bigger!!! :a:
0

#13 User is offline   Ali Imran 

  • Owner
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 2,308
  • Joined: 06-December 04
  • LocationDubai, UAE

Posted 09 June 2005 - 07:27 AM

Welcome emmylove15 to GT

The image you attached in post is not loading. Can you please fix it ?

regards
0

#14 User is offline   emmylove15 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 08-June 05

Posted 15 June 2005 - 12:55 AM

i did i just edited my post
0

#15 User is offline   Ali Imran 

  • Owner
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 2,308
  • Joined: 06-December 04
  • LocationDubai, UAE

Posted 15 June 2005 - 03:29 AM

file abr2gbr.exe is not in the new folder C:\\GBR

please make sure it is in ther and then follow further instructions.

I hope it helps.

regards
0

#16 User is offline   techyon 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 16-May 05

Posted 15 June 2005 - 12:34 PM

Ali,

Is there a reason why the search feature is disabled? There are so many resources in this forum and this one is something that I would like to refer to and certainly others. Having the search feature will minimize the number of repeat questions, eh?
0

#17 User is offline   fencepost 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 2,646
  • Joined: 01-March 05

Posted 15 June 2005 - 12:57 PM

Hi, tech.

I can't speak specifically to your question regarding the search function, but it just so happens that I suggested to Ali last night about compiling these tips into one area so they don't get lost in the mix. He agreed. So, as time permits, we'll be making those changes. Hopefully, that will help out.

Art
0

#18 User is offline   babli 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: 12-May 05

Posted 15 June 2005 - 04:17 PM

this is what i got up to.... what does is it mean by the error? and what is the latest version can the tool convert to? b/c i tried another brush and it says it is version 6 (error)

Posted Image
0

#19 User is offline   fencepost 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 2,646
  • Joined: 01-March 05

Posted 15 June 2005 - 04:48 PM

Based on Ali's reply to Sherry above, the brush(es) are not decodable.

Sorry.

Art
0

#20 User is offline   babli 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: 12-May 05

Posted 15 June 2005 - 05:22 PM

does this mean that only the old version of brushes can be decoded??? version one since version two is not decodable? but how would i know which is decodable and not? is there also a tool that is able to decode higher version?
0

Share this topic:


  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic