Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community: [TUTORIAL] Creating a simple animated .gif - Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community

Jump to content

  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

[TUTORIAL] Creating a simple animated .gif

#1 User is offline   Sean-Michael 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 1,587
  • Joined: 02-May 05

Posted 18 May 2005 - 06:03 AM

[center]
Making a basic animation based on frames with Gimp
By Sean-Michael

First off Id like to say that you can get smother results useing the (GAP) but this is often fine for most applications.

This will be very basic and I will leave you to of corse add you own twists and flares!

Posted Image

1. To get started I want you to make a new image of your own preferance below is an example of what I did.


Posted Image

2. You need to duplicate this frame as many times as you need to add the differnt "frames" you want. In the above example I duplicated the background four times making 5 layers

Posted Image

3. Here you can see the layers I made and you can also see I named the layers so I had reffernce to what was on them. Once you are done I want you to optimize your work, this is the step that saves excesive data and makes your animation load faster on web application.

4. From the image window I want you to select Filters/Animation/Optimize Gif... You will get a new layerd image that looks like the below image... at this point you can change the timing. That is the (1000ms) part of the layer name make it what you want.

Posted Image

Optimizing is what Gimp and other programs do to sort out the change in frames... Then the whole frame doesnt have to change just the effected area and thats how you save data size.

5. You can do whatever you want with the first Un-Optimized image but I want you to save the Optimized as YOUR_NAME_4_IT.GIF at any location on your computer. A window will popup and I want you to make sure you check the Save Animation and you will need to convert to Indexed color because that is what .gif supports. Click Export and then save and you should be done!

Posted Image

Questions and comments are always welcome here
so ask away!
0

#2 User is offline   gatormac2112 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 19-May 05

Posted 22 May 2005 - 05:01 PM

Yeah, I used layers instead of GAP to do this:

Posted Image

I am going to toy with GAP to see if I get better results, but GAP has so many variables that it is quite overwhelming.
0

#3 User is offline   Sean-Michael 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 1,587
  • Joined: 02-May 05

Posted 22 May 2005 - 06:22 PM

Lol Good idea!
I see a connection there! :w:

With (GAP) you could probly get them too strech acrost using the "Perspective" settings.
0

#4 User is offline   gatormac2112 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 19-May 05

Posted 22 May 2005 - 06:35 PM

I have no idea how to use the perspective feature in GAP and in fact have only done your GAP tutorial example. I have alot to figure out regarding GAP.
0

#5 User is offline   Blur11 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 376
  • Joined: 11-May 05

Posted 23 May 2005 - 04:07 PM

that a use full tutorial

are there any GAP tutorials out there
0

#6 User is offline   Sean-Michael 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 1,587
  • Joined: 02-May 05

Posted 23 May 2005 - 04:37 PM

Yes Blur11 Ive made one and have it listed here@ .:GimpTalk:. this is the thread http://www.gimptalk....p?a=v&t=149&f=8 I think I might be adding to soon also.
0

#7 User is offline   Blur11 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 376
  • Joined: 11-May 05

Posted 27 May 2005 - 04:33 PM

i question
Posted Image

how do i get the -=NSDQ=- not to move
0

#8 User is offline   Sean-Michael 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 1,587
  • Joined: 02-May 05

Posted 27 May 2005 - 04:53 PM

Good job Blur11,

Two ways...

1. If you wanted it to apeare in the second frame and then stay for the rest of the animation you have your background with out it then in the next frame you add it and you can then duplicate that frame till the end of animation and the "-=NSDQ=-" will be constant.

2. Add it to you background and duplicate it for as many frames as you need
0

#9 User is offline   Blur11 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 376
  • Joined: 11-May 05

Posted 27 May 2005 - 05:31 PM

cool thanks
0

#10 User is offline   Raven 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 21-June 05

Posted 21 June 2005 - 05:44 PM

I love you man...this really helped.

Im getting better at the GIMP.

Is this good?

Posted Image
0

#11 User is offline   Raven 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 21-June 05

Posted 21 June 2005 - 05:45 PM

BTW, that signature was made completely in GIMP...what do you think?
0

#12 User is offline   Sean-Michael 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 1,587
  • Joined: 02-May 05

Posted 21 June 2005 - 08:12 PM

Welcome to .:GimpTalk:. Raven ant thank you for you kind words!

This looks good! Good job on incorperating the blured effect!
You might want to change it a little by bluring a little one direction and back to focus because to me the bluring was a little trickie on the eyes, dont get me wrong this is great work and it only gets better with practice!
I look forword to seeing more! :l:
0

#13 User is offline   Raven 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 21-June 05

Posted 21 June 2005 - 10:25 PM

Yeah i realized that. I added a border and made it look awesome.


Posted Image


How's that?
0

#14 User is offline   Raven 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 21-June 05

Posted 21 June 2005 - 10:26 PM

Well, there is a border that is white, because Im using it on a dark site.



So you cant see it here, but when you put it on a dark site you can see it.
0

#15 User is offline   Sean-Michael 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 1,587
  • Joined: 02-May 05

Posted 22 June 2005 - 02:59 AM

Looks great! Much better!
I think you would like the text tut fencepost has...http://www.gimptalk....orial.php?t=163
I think you text needs some color other than white, there is also some cool Script~Fu that makes some great logo text that you would enjoy playing with, You can find those in you Gimp tool box under...


[*] Xtns/Script~Fu/Losos
0

#16 User is offline   Raven 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 21-June 05

Posted 22 June 2005 - 03:12 AM

Yes, I know...but I cant really get gimp to work good with text.


You've probably worked with PS before, so Ima ask you this.


You know how people use pixel fonts, then add a 1 px black stroke around it, that looks good on signautres?


2 questions:

1. Gimp seems to SUCK at pixel fonts, any help? They look absolutley disgusting.

2. Anyway to do what I just described above in gimp?
0

#17 User is offline   BR7 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 569
  • Joined: 13-June 05

Posted 23 June 2005 - 02:43 AM

Posted Image

Very nice thanks as you can see I forgot to fix the speed LOL but hey it's all new to me and my first try at this I love this site thanks :l:

This is my second I am trying to make blood look like its running down the pic Posted Image
0

#18 User is offline   Sean-Michael 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 1,587
  • Joined: 02-May 05

Posted 23 June 2005 - 03:32 AM

Reply to BR7 and Raven,

Good work BR7, dont worry about the speed thing, whats cool is that you have your first and it only gets better from here! :l: Thank you for sharing, now you graduate to the GAP tutorials A' :w:

[*] Raven, Im sorry I didnt reply sooner! I was working on the New Tutorial for GAP. It looked like you found the info you needed for the Font!?! Here http://www.gimptalk....?a=v&t=306&f=14
0

#19 User is offline   fencepost 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 2,646
  • Joined: 01-March 05

Posted 23 June 2005 - 03:34 AM

Quote

This is my second I am trying to make blood look like its running down the pic Posted Image


That must be an artery if the blood is moving that fast!!! Please put the knife down and step away from the victim :w:

Nice job!

Art
0

#20 User is offline   BR7 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 569
  • Joined: 13-June 05

Posted 23 June 2005 - 03:42 AM

LOL thanks I am getting tha hang of things slowly but surely I just have to work on the speed more

Ok now I have a problem no matter what I set the speed at it still goes like its at the indy 500
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

Share this topic:


  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic