Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community: Quick Scan Lines Tut - Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Quick Scan Lines Tut

#1 User is offline   Bloggs 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 07-October 05

Posted 07 October 2005 - 09:10 PM

1.Duplicate The Layer That You Want Scan Lines On

Go to Filters>Distorts>Video On The Duplicate Layer
Posted Image

Set It To 3x3

Posted Image

3. Set The Duplicate Layer Mode To Overlay

Posted Image

You Now Have Good Quick Scan Lines!


p.s. Thanks To The Firminator For Letting me Use One Of His Sigs
0

#2 User is offline   Blinkz 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 344
  • Joined: 07-September 05

Posted 08 October 2005 - 07:51 PM

nice..if it works ^^ ill try out tomorrow.. not really in the mood off opening gimp 10 min >< didnt knew you could do it like this, thx
0

#3 User is offline   Deception 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 15-August 05

Posted 09 October 2005 - 03:24 AM

sounds simple, the way I make them is....

>start new poject
>5x5 transparent background
>zoom in real close 800x +
>use 1pixel pencil tool
>draw a line diagonally across the canvas

Posted Image

>save as scanline.pat in your patterns folder
>then you can open any project and add a new layer and fill it with scanline pattern

you can make a few pattern like this but with closer lines try 3x3, vertical, horizotal and dots
0

#4 User is offline   Bloggs 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 07-October 05

Posted 09 October 2005 - 10:43 AM

Yeah I Prefer My Way

I Will Add Some Pictures

p.s. What DO You think Of My First Tut?
0

#5 User is offline   Bloggs 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 07-October 05

Posted 09 October 2005 - 10:59 AM

Just Added Pictures
ENJOY!
0

#6 User is offline   firmater 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 01-October 05

Posted 09 October 2005 - 05:13 PM

Love it!
Quickest And Easiest Way To Do Scanlines So Far!
0

#7 User is offline   Bloggs 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 07-October 05

Posted 09 October 2005 - 05:15 PM

Thank You I Loved It And Thought It Was The Best Ever Way To Make Scan Lines
Beats BR7s Method Aye! :l:
0

#8 User is offline   firmater 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 01-October 05

Posted 11 October 2005 - 04:06 PM

Ya But Dont Get Too Cocky
It Is Good Though He he
thats my sig he used
0

#9 User is offline   fencepost 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 2,646
  • Joined: 01-March 05

Posted 11 October 2005 - 04:18 PM

Not sure it's a "better" way to do it than BR7's, just another good way to do it. BR7 also explained how to create various background patterns in addition to scanlines.

It's always good to see members participating. Everyone has something to bring to the table.

Art
0

#10 User is offline   punksnowboarder 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 16-October 05

Posted 16 November 2005 - 12:30 AM

Posted Image

hehe...animation is fun...
0

#11 User is offline   capnhud 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 576
  • Joined: 13-July 05

Posted 25 November 2005 - 02:43 PM

How do you make it so the scanlines are completely horizontal
I know I'm in my own little world. But its ok. They know me HERE
0

#12 User is offline   The Pipper 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 190
  • Joined: 07-August 05

Posted 25 November 2005 - 03:10 PM

do what deception said but make the line from left to right
Posted Image
0

#13 User is offline   swmiller6 

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staff
  • Posts: 1,161
  • Joined: 25-July 05

Posted 25 November 2005 - 04:41 PM

Create a new top layer then fill with the color of your choice the go to script-fu>alchemy>erase every other row
Then adjust the opacity

if you want vertical lines then change the settings in the erase every other row to columns instead of rows..
Posted Image

Thats right it's a Fencepost original!!! ha ha and it's all mine..
0

#14 User is offline   capnhud 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 576
  • Joined: 13-July 05

Posted 25 November 2005 - 05:16 PM

by far this is the easiest to do for horizontal scanlines!!!!!!
I know I'm in my own little world. But its ok. They know me HERE
0

#15 User is offline   Wilder3 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 66
  • Joined: 03-September 05

Posted 10 December 2005 - 05:45 AM

|Believe there to be scanline filter plugins that would siplify this technique greatly.
|Or have you tried the scriptfu of removing every other line?
Just thoughts.
0

#16 User is offline   Drago 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Posted 23 January 2006 - 12:55 PM

If you want horizontal or vertical scanlines, simply duplicate the layer then erase every other row/column, and change the layer settings.
Posted Image
0

#17 User is offline   Dark Aurora 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 15-January 06

Posted 28 January 2006 - 07:33 AM

Hey, great tut! Its faster than my way of doing them. :l:
0

#18 User is offline   Fallon 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 16-October 05

Posted 28 January 2006 - 11:02 PM

Beautiful tutorial, and very easy! I'm sure this hint will be used by me several times. Thank you, and good find!
0

#19 User is offline   Phyro_gp 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,882
  • Joined: 28-July 06

Posted 28 July 2006 - 10:35 PM

Great Tut I love it!

Quote

I see a little silhouette of a man. Jennet reno, Jennet reno will you do the fandango? Clinton's noose is tightening very very frightening! Me! U.S Senate, U.S Congress, U.S Senate, U.S Congress, U.S Senate let me go! Let me go! I'm just a southern boy, nobody loves me. He's just a bad boy from the first family. There's no escape from her furosity!
0

#20 User is offline   MattGIMP 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 170
  • Joined: 08-June 06

Posted 03 August 2006 - 05:39 AM

nice, it darkens my sig a lot, but nice
those scanlines on my sig, are not scanlines, there brushes made with those lines
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic