Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community: Swap? - Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Swap? Setting Swap folder

#1 User is offline   Jack the R 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 513
  • Joined: 28-November 07

Posted 06 April 2012 - 12:31 PM

I've got a 20 gig of swap partition on an ssd drive, created for GIMP to use. I go to the Swap folder in preferences, currently set to .gimp-2.6, and there appears to be no way to point it to the swap partition. How do you do it?
0

#2 User is offline   ofnuts 

  • Moderator GT
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 1,944
  • Joined: 17-October 10
  • LocationLooking over your shoulder :)

Posted 06 April 2012 - 02:47 PM

View PostJack the R, on 06 April 2012 - 12:31 PM, said:

I've got a 20 gig of swap partition on an ssd drive, created for GIMP to use. I go to the Swap folder in preferences, currently set to .gimp-2.6, and there appears to be no way to point it to the swap partition. How do you do it?
Putting a swap partition on an SSD drive will wear it out rather quickly.

Otherwise the swap folder can be indicated in Edit/Preferences -> Folders (at root). But nowadays it has become pretty much useless. Better invest the same amount of money in RAM.
010011110110011001101110011101010111010001110011
0

#3 User is offline   Jack the R 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 513
  • Joined: 28-November 07

Posted 06 April 2012 - 10:14 PM

View Postofnuts, on 06 April 2012 - 02:47 PM, said:

View PostJack the R, on 06 April 2012 - 12:31 PM, said:

I've got a 20 gig of swap partition on an ssd drive, created for GIMP to use. I go to the Swap folder in preferences, currently set to .gimp-2.6, and there appears to be no way to point it to the swap partition. How do you do it?
Putting a swap partition on an SSD drive will wear it out rather quickly.

Otherwise the swap folder can be indicated in Edit/Preferences -> Folders (at root). But nowadays it has become pretty much useless. Better invest the same amount of money in RAM.


I've got 16 gigs of ram, which is a bit much for my chip to use.

Concerns about swap burning out SSD drives appear to be overhyped - Link

At any rate Kubuntu 11.10 is so incredibly bad with SATA 3 that SSD is the only useable hard drive type. I'd try another flavor of Linux, except I have tried a dozen other flavors, and they were all crippled with bugs. I'll wait for 12.04 and maybe that will work.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic