Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community: How to: Draw an arrow like this - Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How to: Draw an arrow like this

#1 User is offline   sofox 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 23 November 2008 - 04:37 PM

Sometimes i write a tutorial with images, and i want to use arrow to express my idea more clearly. But in Gimp i didn't find a tool to do that. I am very new to Gimp, so can someone tell me how to draw a nice arrow as the following:

Posted Image

Thanks in advance.

#2 User is offline   Griatch 

• GT Administrator
  • Group: Administrators
  • LocationSweden

Posted 23 November 2008 - 05:37 PM

There is no specific tool to make an arrow, no. It's possible there are some filter scripts to do it, but you can rather easily do one with the path or polygon select tool. The latter is probably easiest, but it is only available in gimp2.6 and later.
    [*:2stelciu] Select the polygon select tool (this is the same as the lasso tool)
    [*:2stelciu] click out the corners of the arrow you want (if you drag the tool will draw a custom line, if you click your points will be connected by straight lines). You can also adjust the nodes you place down. This is very fast to do.
    [*:2stelciu] When you close the selection (click back at the start point), you will have a finished selection in the shape of your arrow.
    [*:2stelciu] Fill your selection with any colour/gradient using the Bucket fill or Gradient fill tool. Done.

Posted Image

With some practice it shouldn't take more than 15 seconds to make an arrow using the polygon select tool. The path tool works just as well, it takes one extra step to convert your path to a selection, but otherwise it's the same.
Griatch