Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community: Full Tech Sig Tut - Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community

Jump to content

  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Full Tech Sig Tut

#21 User is offline   ryujijitei 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: 05-December 05

Posted 10 December 2005 - 09:42 PM

****, It won't let me use brushes when I do the 'Color to FG' or whatever is used. Same thing when I add a new layer. Was that optional?

EDIT: My bad, I missed the "Change FG color to white" part.
Posted Image
0

#22 User is offline   Lord_Folken 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 14-December 05

Posted 14 December 2005 - 09:24 AM

Thanks Havok for your tutorial.
I'm new on gimptalk an new on GIMP :s:

This is my first attempt...

Posted Image

Not to bad for a newbe :l:
0

#23 User is offline   LTM 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: 23-December 05

Posted 23 December 2005 - 03:11 PM

Very nice tutorial. This is what I used to do my first sig in Gimp. :h:

Here's what I got:

Posted Image
Posted Image
0

#24 User is offline   Amazin 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 02-January 06

Posted 02 January 2006 - 02:33 AM

Very good tutorial, this is just one of the sigs that i have made using it :l:

Posted Image
0

#25 User is offline   Artificial 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 05-January 06

Posted 05 January 2006 - 05:58 AM

Here's what I came up with in the end.

Posted Image

I like it very much. :h:
0

#26 Guest__*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 12 January 2006 - 12:59 AM

Posted Image

heres my try at it. great tut man
0

#27 User is offline   Kadaj 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 252
  • Joined: 11-January 06

Posted 12 January 2006 - 01:13 AM

when i try to get the soazz set says cannt open beacuase unknown file type.
Posted Image
0

#28 User is offline   Havok 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 29-October 05

Posted 12 January 2006 - 05:53 PM

okay, can you get a screenshot of it, and what version of Gimp are you using/
0

#29 User is offline   Scorchdragon 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: 13-January 06

Posted 14 January 2006 - 10:49 PM

Nice job havok!
I recently got GIMP though and i don't know how to get just like a character outa a pic and putting it in.. Can someone teach me how? :h:
please and thanks
~Scorchdragon

btw what font you usin artificial (H)
0

#30 User is offline   Havok 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 29-October 05

Posted 15 January 2006 - 06:14 PM

Well if it has a plain 1 color background then use the magic wand tool...it looks like a wand and is in the tool pallete. If it's a wallpaper kind of background, take the lasso tool (looks like a black lasso) and run across the the part you want in the sig. Then go to selection>Feather> 15

Then ctrl+i and then ctrl+x
0

#31 User is offline   TheRenegade 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 18-January 06

Posted 18 January 2006 - 02:04 AM

Wow, Great job man. You taught a newbie like me how to make great sigs in under two days.
Here are some of mine. I used a little variation from your method however, for my non-techy sigs:
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/ ... damSig.jpg
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/ ... dmcsig.jpg
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/ ... ronsig.jpg
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/ ... othsig.jpg
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/ ... 8/Lulu.jpg
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/ ... damsig.jpg
0

#32 User is offline   Itachi 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 06

Posted 19 January 2006 - 03:36 PM

Thanks Havok, I am new to GIMP. I am at highschool atm, and they have GIMP in their system. I also dled it at home to get more familiar with the program.

Here is my result:

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y203/i ... u/sigg.jpg
0

#33 User is offline   Bert 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 20-January 06

Posted 20 January 2006 - 04:12 AM

uhh I'm kind of a newb but ok heres my question. Do you know when u select something with the magic wand, well it only selects certain colors and then when i copy and paste it only pastes some of the colors? probally something im doing wrong but well help me please. =D
0

#34 User is offline   hantokan 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 11-January 06

Posted 20 January 2006 - 10:40 AM

very nice tut this iz my first attepmt i love it :h:
Posted Image
0

#35 User is offline   Bert 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 20-January 06

Posted 21 January 2006 - 02:34 AM

well heres my first try at

Posted Image
0

#36 User is offline   zammar 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 21-January 06

Posted 22 January 2006 - 02:34 PM

i need help of getting the brush into the the brush tool bar
0

#37 User is offline   damF 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 08-January 06

Posted 22 January 2006 - 02:38 PM

Zammar
whats wrong with it?
0

#38 User is offline   HeartBreakKid 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 20-January 06

Posted 24 January 2006 - 04:16 PM

nice tut, here's my first ever tech sig

Posted Image
0

#39 User is offline   Dannyboy 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 04-March 06

Posted 04 March 2006 - 04:14 PM

Hi im new and i was reading the tutorial.Ive never used gimp before.I followed all the steps but when i select the brush and click on the canvas it doesnt do anything.Can some one help me?
0

#40 User is offline   imbored531 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 04-March 06

Posted 04 March 2006 - 05:33 PM

You need to change the forground to black so the brush will show up. That should make it work.



I have a question. I get completely lost at step 13. I sont know how to put my gradient on the canvas. I selected my two colors. I have the gradient thing open in the main gimp window. Now what? In step 13, you say that we should have our canvas with our two colors... I dont...
0

Share this topic:


  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic