Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community: Setting up GIMP for artistic work - Gimptalk - Premier Gimp Community

• 13 Pages +
  • « First
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Setting up GIMP for artistic work

#201 User is offline   RedAngel 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 12 April 2009 - 06:36 PM

Thank you for sharing your knowledge, i've found this tutorial very well written and done.
I'm a programmer (a good one :D) but i'm not an artist at all with a pencil in hand, but i think that everyone should try every kind of art he, so... here i am trying to draw something :D

Thanks to you i've learned interesting stuff and i spent some minutes drawing the tree and i'll post the result when i'll be back, now i'm in hurry but i wanted to post my greetings to you before i forget :oops:

I'll read every other tutorial of your for sure and of course i've to learn some basic artistic stuff about lighting and shadow too :D

Fabio

#202 User is offline   brianweese 

• Pip

Posted 12 April 2009 - 09:00 PM

How do I attach my dead tree attempt so you can see it? This is the first time I have read through a tutorial and ended up with something that I might actually want to show someone!!!

Happily Gimping,
D. Brian Weese

#203 User is offline   2-ton 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip

Posted 12 April 2009 - 10:19 PM

to post up a picture, first you need to upload your picture to a hosting site, such as photobucket or flickr, etc. Then use the message board code (img) for that picture and put that code into your post. The bb code looks like this...
[IMG]http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f38/tonitalley1/MiG%20Posters/buttons/buttonmigredsquare-1.png[/IMG]

and this is what it will show...
Posted Image

#204 User is offline   brianweese 

• Pip

Posted 13 April 2009 - 04:20 AM

Here's my 1st and 2nd attempts at following the tutorial. #2 turned out much better... :) Thanks for a great tutorial...

D. Brian Weese

Attempt #1 at drawing a "Dead Tree"